Kronos Quartet & Soo Yeon Lyuh

Thursday, June 28, 2018, 8PM

Buttenwieser Hall at 92Y
1395 Lexington Ave, New York, NY 10128

Tickets: $55
To purchase tickets, please visit the 92Y website at 

“Its adventurous, undecorous approach to programming and cross-cultural collaborations planted the seed for a new generation of innovative string quartets... as well as inspired individual artists to reimagine musical parameters.” - The New York Times


Kronos Quartet
David Harrington, violin • John Sherba, violin • Hank Dutt, viola • Sunny Yang, cello

Soo Yeon Lyuh
Haegeum (Korean two-string fiddle) player, composer and improviser

Dawool Park
Geomungo (Korean traditional string instrument of the zither family) and janggu (Korean traditional drum) player



Soo Yeon Lyuh
Yeongsanhoesang / Accompanied by Dawool Park on geomungo
VI: Hahyeon Dodeuri
VII: Yeombul Dodeuri
VIII: Taryeong

Haegeun Sanjo (Ji Younghee School) / Accompanied by Dawool Park on janggu (Korean traditional drum)

Kronos Quartet
Konono No1 (arr. Jherek Bischoff)
 / Kule Kule +  
N. Rajam (arr. Reena Esmail) / Dadra in Raga Bhairavi + 
Babatunde Olatunji (arr. Jacob Garchik) / Zungo (inspired by Nina Simone) +  World premiere
Antonio Haskell (arr. Jacob Garchik) / God Shall Wipe All Tears Away (inspired by Mahalia Jackson) +
Mario Galeano Toro / Microsurco de Liebre *


Kronos Quartet and Soo Yeon Lyuh
Soo Yeon Lyuh
 / Yessori (Sound from the Past) *
            Composed for Fifty for the Future: The Kronos Learning Repertoire

* Written for Kronos
+ Arranged for Kronos

For more than 40 years, the Kronos Quartet has pursued a singular artistic vision, combining a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to continually re-imagining the string quartet experience. In the process, Kronos has become one of the most celebrated and influential groups of our time, performing thousands of concerts worldwide, releasing more than 60 recordings of extraordinary breadth and creativity, collaborating with many of the world's most intriguing and accomplished composers and performers, and commissioning more than 900 works and arrangements for string quartet.

Soo Yeun Lyuh is a haegeum (Korean two-string fiddle) player, composer and improviser. Rigorously trained in court and folk repertories from a young age, Lyuh is known for her masterful performances of new compositions for the haegeum. In Korea, she served as a member of the National Gugak Center’s new music troupe for over a decade. Deeply invested in exploring new musical possibilities via improvisation, Lyuh seeks to continually expand contemporary haegeum possibilities through work with new media and technology.

This concert will be a special collaboration between the Kronos Quartet and Korean Haegeum musician Soo Yeun Lyuh.

There will be a post-performance Q&A with David Harrington and Soo Yeun Luh moderated by Hyo Han, Director of Performing Arts; Korean Cultural Center New York.

This performance is co-presented by the World Music Institute, 92Y, and the Korean Cultural Center New York as part of KCCNY's Korean Culture Day 2018 Program for June.

koreancultureday_logo (2).png
Miro Yoon